WeightingPotentialReader in v2.0.0

Hi,

I am trying to simulate the performance of a simple Si hybrid detector (250um pitch, 500um thickness, 3x3 pixel array) using AllPix2; although I have basic experience with allpix this is my first time utilising the package since the release of v2.0.0.

Part of my simulation involves the importing of a Weighting Potential using the WeightingPotentialReader module in order to simulate the Shockley-Ramo effect using the Transient Propagation and PulseTransfer modules. I produced this weighting potential in Sentaurus TCAD and converted it into the .init format using the included mesh_converter tool. The outputted file appears sensible to me with the header reading:

Allpix Squared v2.0.0 TCAD Mesh Converter, observable: ElectrostaticPotential
internal ##EVENTS##
##TURN## ##TILT## 1.0
0.0 0.0 0.0
500 750 750 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 100 100 100 0.0

This suggests to me that the mesh correctly extends across the 3x3 (250um pitch) array, which I require to use a 3x3 induction matrix in later modules. However, when I attempt to load this mesh into Allpix the WP map is compressed in both the x and y dimensions, as shown below:

The parameter-key options I selected for the WeightingPotentialReader module are as follows:

[WeightingPotentialReader]
model = “mesh”
file_name = “ptype_Si_WP_plot_allPix_100_ElectrostaticPotential.init”
output_plots = 1

The confusing thing is, that trying the same protocol back in January using v1.6.0, this method worked with the weighting potential correctly extending across the both x and y dimensions. Is anybody able to help explain the origin of this issue and if since the latest update, I am required to put additional parameters into my .conf script?

Obviously if more information is required to help solve this issue, please let me know and I’ll do my best to answer any questions.

Thanks,
Ben

Hi @bencline ,