Linear field model: depletion voltage / depletion depth setup

Dear developers,

For the moment, I am studying the detector response using the linear electric field approximation. In this model, either you set the bias voltage and the depletion depth or you set the bias voltage and the depletion voltage.

But in the case where the depletion voltage is not given in the config file, the depletion voltage will be set to be equal to the bias voltage. When the bias voltage is negative, this results in a zero electric field at the front side of the detector, and so this affects the charge collection at the very beginning when a low energy particle interacts with the detector volume.

Is this normal? Why have you chosen to do this? can this be fixed in the future to allow the calculation of the full depletion voltage from the depletion depth, in case the depletion voltage is not given?

Best
Tasneem

Hi Tasneem,

may I ask which kind of sensor you are trying to simulate?

The behaviour you describe is indeed intended. The depletion characteristics of your sensor depend strongly on the design of your sensor. The parameters depletion_depth and depletion_voltage are two attempts to boil down these information to what we need for modeling the electric field.

As we can’t know the properties of your sensor, we have to use these as a best guess. If no depletion_voltage or depletion_depth is given, our best guess is to say, the bias_voltage is just enough to deplete your sensor, which results in the linear function going down to 0 at one side of the sensor. At which side the field goes down to 0 can be controlled using the deplete_from_implants parameter. You can set it to false, if you e.g. simulate n-in-n sensors.

In order to create an electric field that does not go down to 0, you need to go to overdepletion. For this you need to state the depletion_voltage in addition to the bias_voltage, where bias_voltage > depletion_voltage.