2 Particles in a fixed distance

Hello,

I would like to shoot 2 photons in specific positions, in a fixed distance between them.
Can I do directly from the configuration file or do I have to create a geant source macro file?

Thank you a lot in advance :slight_smile:

P.S.: And if someone knows or can give me any info in how to do this in the geant macro file it would be very helpful, since I have no experience with Geant.

Hi @Peni123,

In the [DepositionGeant4] module you can include:

source_type = "macro"
file_name = "twoParticles.mac"

where twoParticles.mac is the name of the macro. A macro example that works for me with two electrons at fixed positions is:

/gps/particle e-
/gps/pos/type Point 
/gps/pos/centre 0.01 0 -10 mm 
/gps/ene/mono 5 GeV 
/gps/direction 0 0 1 
/gps/intensity 1

/gps/source/add 1
/gps/particle e-
/gps/pos/type Point 
/gps/pos/centre 0.01 0.02 -10 mm 
/gps/ene/mono 5 GeV 
/gps/direction 0 0 1 
/gps/source/multiplevertex 1

Hope that helps :slight_smile: Let me know if you have any problems adapting the code.
Cheers,
Sara

3 Likes

Dear Sara,

Thank you a lot for your response! It helped a lot.
But what happens if I want a flat beam with a specific radius for each one of them?
Does the point represent that?

Thank you again!
Cheers
Peni

Hi @Peni123

have a look at the commands you can use in the Geant4 documentation here. For a flat beam at two positions, change the type for example to

/gps/pos/type beam

or to

/gps/pos/type plane
/gps/pos/shape circle

Cheers,
Simon

Hi Simon,

Thank you a lot for your response too. I will look through the documentation as well.

Best
Peni

Hello again @simonspa and @ruizdaza .